Philip Glass Reveals Upcoming Piano Album “Philip Glass Solo”

by Madonna

Renowned composer Philip Glass has recently announced the release of his highly anticipated piano album titled “Philip Glass Solo.” Set to be released on January 26 via Orange Mountain Music, the album will be available in digital formats, as well as a condensed and limited vinyl edition. Alongside the announcement, Glass has unveiled the full track list, album art, and a preview clip of himself performing at his home.

Crafted during the years 2020-2021, the album was recorded at Glass’s private studio in New York. It features a selection of compositions, including a track from his 1982 album “Glassworks,” various movements from his solo piano piece “Metamorphosis,” an organ composition originally created for the Dalai Lama back in 1978, and a reimagined version of “Truman Sleeps” from his score for the acclaimed 1998 film “The Truman Show.”


Reflecting on the album, Glass shares, “This record revisits my works for piano. From 2020-2021, I had the opportunity to spend time at home practicing the pieces that I have performed for many years. This album serves as both a time capsule of 2021 and a reflection on decades of composition and practice. It is a documentation of my current musical thoughts. Additionally, there is the notion of place. This album was recorded on my own piano, the instrument on which most of this music was initially composed. The recording took place in the same room where I have worked for decades, surrounded by the vibrant energy that New York City has always provided me. Listeners may catch the subtle hum of the city in the background or sense the influence of time and memory that this space holds. To the best of my ability, I created this album to invite the listener into my world.”


The track listing for “Philip Glass Solo” is as follows:


01 Opening

02 Mad Rush

03 Metamorphosis I

04 Metamorphosis II

05 Metamorphosis III

06 Metamorphosis V

07 Truman Sleeps

Fans and music enthusiasts alike eagerly await the release of “Philip Glass Solo,” which promises to be a remarkable addition to Glass’s extensive and influential body of work.


You may also like


Musicalinstrumentworld is a musical instrument portal. The main columns include piano, guitar, ukulele, saxphone, flute, xylophone, oboe, trumpet, trombone, drum, clarinet, violin, etc.

【Contact us: [email protected]

Copyright © 2023